New CD & Event celebrate Maria Jacobs’ ‘Art of the Duo’

Available on February 12, The Art of the Duo is vocalist Maria Jacobs’ fourth recording to date. It represents her continuing growth as an artist. It is in many ways her most honest and compelling project. Jacobs is paired with guitar, piano, and then bass for a sophisticated, straight ahead jazz recording. Not an edited album, Jacobs’ improvisations are all organic, taking the best take, rather than cutting and pasting.

Art of the Duo

Bobby Jackson of The Jazz Mind Radio Show states, “The ‘Art’ of the duo is no casual exercise for those who engage in the discipline of making music. Save for the solo artist, the duo format is the most vulnerable. The solo artist has no safety net, relying completely on their skill as a communicator. There is however another kind of tightrope walk for musicians who perform in duo fashion; It involves a “trust” born of mutual respect that relies their acumen to have each other’s back. Jacob’s abilities are on full display here as she is paired in song, at once with a guitarist, a pianist and an acoustic bassist. Jacobs demonstrates with quiet confidence, interpretations of songs tempered first through years of practice in solitude followed by the mutual conversation of agreement with musical equals. Songs that are now unveiled for you, who reap the fruit of their labors. Eat, drink and be merry in this experience as you listen to The Art Of The Duo.”

The CD features:
Maria Jacobs, Vocals
Bob Fraser, Guitar
Steve Cipriano, Guitar
Tony Dumas, Bass
Dan Maier, Keyboards

Track listing, track times and composer:
1) ALONE TOGETHER (Arthur Schwartz, Howard Dietz) 3:45
2) SMALL DAY TOMORROW (Bob Dorough) 4:45
3) TOO CLOSE FOR COMFORT (Jerry Bock, George David Weiss, Larry Holofcenter) 4:21
4) IT COULD HAPPEN TO YOU (Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke) 4:07
5) SUMMERTIME (George and Ira Gershwin, DuBose Heyward) 3:35
6) NEARNESS OF YOU (Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington) 2:28
7) POETRY MAN (Phoebe Snow) 4:31
8) I WILL (John Lennon, Paul McCartney) 2:56
9) YEH YEH (Rodgers Grant, Jon Hendricks, Pat Patrick) 6:30

A CD release event will take place at NY’s famed Metropolitan Roomon Saturday, March 16th at 9:30 pm. The event will features Maria Jacobs (vocals), Ed Leonard (piano), Paul Beaudry (bass) and Will Terrill (drums). The Metropolitan Room is at 34 West 22nd Street, NY, NY 10010 (between 5th and 6th). Tickets are $20 plus dinner or two drinks.